Scoble asks ‘Do A-list bloggers have a responsibility to link to others?’

It’s hard enough to find good, new, and interesting content amongst the plethora of blogs that exist as it is, so the short answer is ‘No’.  A-listers have a responsibility to link to blogs that are worth reading independent of there age or size, but then that goes for everyone that blogs, and I would say is also a given.  If I link to someone it’s because I think what they’ve said is interesting, helpful or important, not only to me, but to those who might read my blog and I would hope that people only link to me when I am saying something that is of equally merit.

 I’ve been blogging on and off for about 3 years now but have only really started to get comments and links in the last 8-12 months, mostly because it took that long to establish my ‘blogging voice’.  As I still don’t think I’ve reached my full potential I would expect the number of readers picked up because of a link from Robert to be much lower than it would be, say, 12 months from now.  So what I’m saying is, whilst the quality and interest of one post will play a big factor in whether a site receives a link, ‘blog maturity’ should play a big part in whether one actively seeks those links in the first place.

In short, whilst I think I’ve done some really cool stuff and I’d love to share it with the world, I wouldn’t expect a link to my blog since I’m still quite new, my content is of limited appeal outside the small community I’m involved in and I think my ‘blogging voice’ still needs to grow.  Even when it has, I still wouldn’t expect a link from an A-list blog unless it warranted it.

Technorati tags:

Leave a Reply

