Polar diagram generation tool

This is a repost

Update : I haven’t got around to separating the Polar Diagram tool from my main application (which is huge) so anyone who wants me to generate a polar for them please get in touch at simon dot middlemiss at microsoft dot com.

Update : I’ve removed the tool because it didn’t work with the release build of WPF.  I’ll update it if anyone is interested in it. Leave a comment…

Since I’ve had a lot of hits to my blog from Google searching for things along the lines of “J/109 polar diagram” and “X-332 polar diagram” I’ve repurposed a bit of the Regatta Manager to produce a polar diagrams for all the major one design classes with the option to generate one from an IRC rating.

It produces polar diagrams for the following classes:

Laser SB3
Etchells
1720
RSK6
Daring

Dragon
Sonar
707
Flying 15
RS Elite

Redwing
Solent Sunbeam
Squib
Swallow
Mermaid

Victory
XOD
J-109
X-332
Sigma 38

Sigma 33
Sunsail 37
Contessa 32

Shout if anyone wants any more defaults added, I’ll post a link over the weekend.

36 Responses to “Polar diagram generation tool”

  1. Martin Lossie Says:

    Hi Simon

    I’d be interested in your polar diagram generator as I need it for my Laser SB3

    How could I obtain it?

    Cheers, Martin

  2. Simon Middlemiss Says:

    Martin,

    I’m working on a distributable version of it. I can run off a bitmap of the polar for the time being if you need it quicker.

  3. Kjetil Fagervik Says:

    Hi Simon,

    I’m very interested in your tool – please make it distributable if you can. I’ve got an X-362 Sport, and would like to see if I can work on a polar diagram of this.

    Kjetil

  4. Simon Middlemiss Says:

    Kjetil,

    I’ll get it done as soon as I can. Things have been very busy of late.

  5. Dave Fearon Says:

    Simon

    Just started racing on an X-362, do you have a polar diagram for this boat? If you do please email to davidfearon21@yahoo.com

  6. Thomas Patch Says:

    Been looking for polar curves for the Etchells for ages… If it wouldn’t be too much trouble, could you point me in the right direction to find some? It seems strange to me that the one design classes do not make this information available as a matter of course. Love the class by the way. Great boat.

  7. COLIN KING Says:

    I should be very interested in obtaining a Polar Diagram for a Contessa 32.

  8. Howard Nichols Says:

    I’m desperately trying to find polars for a Sonar…

  9. Howard Nichols Says:

    (I’m modelling the sonar for Virtual skipper) 🙂

  10. Pete Bonk Says:

    I am very interested in obtaining a Polar Diagram for a Pearson Ensign.

  11. Steve Dick Says:

    Hi Simon,

    I’m really interested in using your Polar Diagram software – I’ve been trying to find a polar for a Sigma 362 for months and this is the closest I’ve managed to get. Is there any chance you could give me a copy of the program or a polar?

    Regards,
    Steve

  12. BugFix Says:

    Hi, I would also like the polar diagram for the Laser SB3

    BitMap is OK, I could not find it on the link ?

  13. BDASigma Says:

    Hi, I have been trying to get polar digram together for my sigma 33 for a couple of seasons without success and if you can send me a copy of the diagram that would be fantastic.

    Thank you

  14. Dominik Lenk Says:

    Could you send me a diagram for a Sigma 33? Thanks a lot…

  15. Boris Says:

    Hi, I’m interested in your tool as well. How can I get it? I would also like to get the polars for an X-332. Would you be able to send them to me?
    Thanks in advance!

  16. John C Says:

    Hi
    Do you have a polar for an SB3 Please

  17. Bob King Says:

    Hi

    I would very much like a polar diagram for any SB3.

    Many thanks

  18. umberto Says:

    Hi, I’m interested in your tool as well. How can I get it? I would also like to get the polars for an X-332. Would you be able to send them to me?
    Thanks in advance!

  19. Carlton Says:

    I would really appreciate a polar diagram for a San Juan 21.
    Thanks Carlton

  20. kmcfast Says:

    Simon, Please add me to Carlton’s request.
    San Juan 21

  21. Charles Whittam Says:

    Hi Simon,

    I’ve just started racing my boat seriously and will be getting it’s first IRC rating in the next few days. I would love to plug that into your software to generate a polar but couldn’t find a working link from this post. Is that facility still available? If so I would be very grateful if you would point me at it. Many thanks.

  22. John Says:

    Hi Simon,

    I am getting to do more racing on my Sigma 400 this year and would like to generate polar diagrams to help assess performance. Do you have any for my class? Or for the Sigma 38 and Beneteau 40.7 as comparative ones that I could modify?

    Cheers,

    John

  23. Andy Says:

    Hi Simon,

    Can you provide a polar chart for a Fontaine Pajot Antigua 37 and a Fontaine Pajot Athena 38?

    I am considering both and wonder which would sail best.

    Thanks

    Andy

  24. Paul Says:

    Hi!

    I’m sailing a Sigma 33 and we’re never certain about what’s best on the downwind legs. I’d really appreciate a copy of the polar; it’d settle some very long running arguements!

    Many thanks,

    Paul

  25. Ed Says:

    Another person interested in a polar for the Pearson Ensign. Thanks in advance!

  26. QFDaniel Says:

    Actually,good post. thx

  27. Tom Says:

    I’m looking for a polar diagram for a San Juan 24 (1977). Thanks for any help you can proved.

  28. Mike Says:

    I am looking for a polar diagram for a Pearson 31-2. Has the program been released?

    • Alex Urdea Says:

      Hi Mike – I have a Pearson 31-2 and have been looking for polar diagrams myself. Have you found anything? Would you mind sharing if so?
      Thanks
      – Alex
      alex at soluslp dot com

  29. Ernie Bivona Says:

    Simon
    I am looking for the polar diagram for the X-332. How can I get one?
    Thanks.

  30. Peter Smith Says:

    Hi, Simon,
    This is an old thread but obviously still a hot one.

    Did you ever get your software up and running, do you now have a database of polars or a working program that would help generate one for a boat that hasn’t yet got one.

    Cheers

    Peter

  31. John Says:

    Hi There,

    I don’t suppose you can run a polar for a Sigma 400 can you? If it helps I should be getting a data logger soon to help recording data.

    Chees,

    John

  32. Joris Says:

    Hi, Simon,

    I’m looking for a polar diagram for a Laser SB3. Since your software is capable of generating one, would you mind generating a polar diagram and sending it to me?
    Thanks in advance!

    Cheers,
    Joris

  33. Paul Hine Says:

    I’m looking for a polar diagram for a Laser SB3. Since your software is capable of generating one, would you mind generating a polar diagram and sending it to me?
    Thanks in advance!

    Cheers,
    Joris

  34. Had Says:

    Would love to see polar diagrams for Laser full rig, E Scow (asymmetrical chute) and Ensign. Thanks.

    Bricky

  35. Peter Morris Says:

    Another person desiring polar diagram for Pearson Ensign ….


Leave a Reply

