Windows Vista and Office 2007 avaliable for download

The RTM drop of Microsoft Windows Vista and Microsoft Office 2007 are now both up on MSDN.  I’ve installed Office a couple of days ago and am almost as impressed as I was with Beta 2.  My biggest gripe is that I’d got used to the ‘Send’ button being on a ribbon in Outlook, but hey I’ll get used to it!
 
Having been stuck on Beta 2 of Vista for too long now I am looking forward to a clean install and to getting the Regatta Manager ported to the release code.  I am also looking forward to doing some new developments under the RTM version of WPF, especially as a couple of people have now said that it’s quite a bit faster than it used to be.  If that’s the case then kudos to the product team for getting some extra performance out of it in the last few weeks.
 
The one downside to all of this is that in about six months time the whole hype engine will start again with whatever the next set of new technologies will be (Orcas? Blackcomb?), there’s never any rest for the bleeding edge developer…I love it!
Leave a Reply

